Respected Representation in Washington for DUI Charges
DUI charges can take a substantial toll on every aspect of your life. Being charged with a DUI in Washington can have a devastating impact on your life, livelihood, and family. However, a DUI arrest doesn’t always have to mean a conviction. By having committed and skilled counsel on your side to fight the charges you’re facing, you will be in the best position to obtain a favorable outcome in your case.
If the prosecution has brought DUI charges against you, it’s important to understand that you have legal rights and options. With 35 years of experience, the Fox Law Firm PLLC is dedicated to providing high-quality legal services for DUI charges and securing positive results.
DUI Charges in Washington State
Under Washington law, an individual is prohibited from operating a vehicle if their blood alcohol content is .08% or higher or if their ability to drive is impaired by alcohol despite a reading under the legal limit. A .02% BAC limit is imposed on drivers under the age of 21. Critically, an individual can also be charged with a DUI if they had physical control over a vehicle while over the legal BAC limit or while impaired by alcohol. In other words, sitting behind the wheel in a parked or idling vehicle while intoxicated can come with DUI penalties.
A first-time DUI involving a BAC between .08% and .15% is charged as a gross misdemeanor. If you are convicted, you may face up to one year in jail, substantial fines, and a minimum of one day in jail or 15 days of electronic home monitoring. You may also be required to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program that is available in certain counties.
If you had a DUI prior offense within the past seven years, you may be charged with a gross misdemeanor and face 30-365 days in jail, substantial fines, 60 days of electronic home monitoring, and be required to participate in a 24/7 sobriety program. The penalties increase if the breath test result is .15 or higher or if the breath test was refused.
A third DUI in a seven-year time frame results in increased penalties. You may face up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. A conviction can also mean a minimum of 90 days in jail and 120 days of electronic home monitoring.
If you have had four or more DUI offenses within a ten-year period, or you were previously convicted of vehicular assault, you may be charged with a felony DUI. A felony is defined as a conviction for which more than one year incarceration is possible, and such incarceration is typically served in a state prison.
A judge may consider certain “aggravating” factors concerning a DUI, which can result in even harsher penalties if you are convicted. For instance, if a passenger under 16 was present in your vehicle at the time you were driving under the influence or you were driving the wrong way on a multiple lane highway, you could face additional jail time.
If your DUI involves vehicular homicide, the penalties for the charges that may be brought against you can be much more severe. Charges for vehicular homicide can be brought if an individual passes away within three years due to the actions of a driver who operated their vehicle under the influence. Vehicular homicide is a Class A felony in Washington.
Contact an Experienced DUI Attorney in Washington
One mistake shouldn’t define the rest of your life. If you have been charged while driving under the influence in Washington, it’s essential to have counsel on your side who can protect your legal rights and driving privileges. Offering skilled representation and adept advocacy, the Fox Law Firm PLLC has been dedicated to fighting DUI charges for clients since 1985 — and securing positive outcomes in their cases. Contact Attorney Jon Fox for a free consultation by calling (425) 274-9190.